NaNo 2014 Approaches


Last year I found about about NaNo for the first time. On about the 7th of November. I used it to force myself to write more (whoopty doo) and ever since I have been anticipating November 2014. And now it’s a month away!

I have never written a novel before. I have attempted chapters and have ideas , but no manuscript. I am a short-story-er. This year I am going to write my first novel. I have pulled out an idea that I would like to try from the depths of the writing drawer and am looking over my very bare idea. I’m going to flesh out the plan (or perhaps even try for some sort of plan to begin with) over the next month and then bam! 1667 words err’day.

So. I’m scribbling a fantasy; a bit of a dystopia that reflects the problems in our own society. I want to talk about the idea of social justice and the hidden merit behind someone who is forced to become a victim, either by the hand of others or the hand of circumstance. Who knows, I may churn out a totally different book altogether.

Honestly my favourite thing about NaNo is the community vibe. So tell me what you are doing – planning or pantsing? What genres are you thinking of writing about?

7 thoughts on “NaNo 2014 Approaches

  1. I’ll be working on my Cursed series. It’s a YA sci-fi/fantasy/adventure story. I’ve done a lot on book 1, some for books 2, 3 and then another book that’s the backstory that will have a different title since it will come out after the first 3. It’s the story before the story. I know we are supposed to start something fresh and new but I believe rules were meant to be broken. I’ll just count how many words I have so far and then add 50,000 words to Book 1 or a combo of Book 1 and Book 2. πŸ™‚ Good luck! I know I’ll see you at the finish line and then we will PAR-TAY!

  2. I participated for the first time last year and loved it. As I am usually a pantser, I’ve no idea what I will work on this year, but probably some sort of contemporary fiction.
    Good luck to you!!

Leave a comment